Feeling the love

I was recently listening to a podcast with Brene Brown and she made a comment that stopped me in my tracks. “We cannot give anything to others that we don’t already have.” It literally gave me goosebumps and has been on repeat in my mind since then.

We cannot give anything to others that we don’t already have.

I’m talking love, compassion, acceptance, forgiveness, understanding, and the list goes on and on……

We can only love others as much as we love ourselves.

I’ve been marinating on this and how it applies to my life. Am I giving myself the amount of love that I give to others?

The more I thought about it and when I decided to be completely honest with myself, I realized the answer to that question was no.  I don’t give myself near enough love. I spend so much time up in my head always striving to be my best that I don’t give myself permission to just chill out and be myself. To fully accept myself as I am. I have my good days and its a work in progress but I realized that if I’m not loving myself as much as I am capable, then I must be holding back on the amount of love I give to others.

I have to crack my heart open and be completely willing to put myself first. To be selfish and to shower myself with massive amounts of love. To really feel what that love feels like deep within my soul so that I can give that same amount of love to every single person I meet. Full hearted. Without holding anything back. Because I deserve the same amount of love that I would give someone else.

Leave a Reply

